Chapter 4 – “Change of Plan – You’re Not Leaving Yet!”

“We have a problem,” Kirsten admitted. “… that’s a serious crime…”

“Now, go to your room and pack your stuff, then Securities will take you to the airport,” Kirsten said.

“But I don’t want to go to the airport,” I said. “I have other plans!”

“They will drop you off at the airport, because we can’t just kick you out in the street – that’s not safe. And from there you can go wherever you want. Go, get your bags.”

Daughney helped me to put my luggage and bags in the trunk, leaving me with no money, and a security lady drove me to the airport, talking to somebody on the phone, swearing and cursing like a sailor, because she lost her way. “I apologize for the foul language,” she said to me, and I replied,.”That’s okay, I got used to it at Flag.” (I was surprised to see people in the Sea Org doing “no-cursing” drills where they have to tell a story without using swear words. Must be one of the newest orders in progress.)

My heart was bouncing like a basketball all the way to the airport and just before we got there, they got a new phone call. I was convinced that my worst nightmare was about to come true: They never intended to let me go in the first place.

“They found some more evidence they want to ask you about. We have a change of plans. We will take you to a nice hotel room, where you can relax and then somebody will come and ask you a few more questions,” Security explained.

They left all my stuff in the trunk and took me to a hotel room where Moxon and Kirsten were sitting. “Just-a-geek” was there too.

“I rented two rooms – one for me, and one for you,” Moxon told me. “Right next to each other. Let’s finish what we started. The faster we finish, the faster you can leave. Believe me, I don’t want to keep paying for these rooms for several days. I already spent more money than I was allowed. See? I bought a printer, so now we can print out all the documents you stole without leaving the room, and you can initial them. We forgot to do that last night.”

“So what? Just take this printer back to the store when you’re done and get your money back,” I advised him.

He looked at Kirsten. “What do you think? It’s a good idea. I still have the receipt. How I did not think of that?”

“What’s going on here?” I interrupted him. “Why can’t I go home?”

“We have a problem,” Kirsten admitted. “We got your log-on from HCO, went to the Membership Officer’s computer, logged in to your account, and found out you downloaded more documents than we knew about, including files with people’s credit card data, and that’s a serious crime. I don’t want to accuse you of something you did not do. If you did not take credit card numbers, we need to know that. Otherwise, we will have to contact every person and tell them to cancel their cards, explain them what happened, and ask them if they want to press charges against you.”

I just stood there, shocked.

“I did not steal any credit cards.That was not my goal, I would not do anything like that,” I finally said, “But I did open those files you are talking about, looked at them – but it was not what I was looking for, so I just logged out. I never saved them on any flash drive, never e-mailed them, never did anything with them – you can check – they never were transferred or copied from that computer!”

“Okay. I believe you. Let’s just go over all these records. Put in one pile what you took, and in another pile what you did not take,” she said, carefully avoiding the word “stole.”

She put in front of me a huge pile of papers. It took me several hours to go through all of them. I did not lie about that. I knew they had records from my Senior, of documents that were downloaded.

“Okay, here is what I took,” I said, after I eliminated about half of the documents.

“Okay. Initial now, every document you took.”

I did.

“Now, log in to your e-mail account just to make sure.” Kirsten asked.

“Everybody turn around!” ‘Just-a-geek’ said, “She does not like when anybody is looking at her password!”

I let them log in and check my accounts. I had nothing to hide. There was nothing that they did not see before. They found a few more videos.

 

 

“You can give me another Sec Check, if you don’t believe me,” I said.

“Hmmm,” Kirsten said, “I may take you up on that. Make sure you have something to eat, and be sessionable tomorrow.”

I went to my room that looked exactly like Moxon’s, except there were different pictures on the wall, and I noticed two phones in the room – one on each dresser. But then I discovered that none of them had a cord.

“I need to make a phone call!” I told the security lady.

“Tomorrow you can ask OSA about it,” she said, “Just relax. What’s your favorite music?”

“What do you care what’s my favorite music?” I attacked her, still being mad about not being able to call for help.

“Well, we don’t want you to start telling people, ‘They locked me up in the room and tortured with music that I hate!’ Would you like to watch TV?” she handed me a remote control.

I turned the TV on  but nothing good was on. I decided to order a video. “Oh, can we please watch a new Tom Cruise movie that just came out?” Daughney asked me.

I knew, Sea Org members don’t get to watch too many movies, so I let her order it. “Oh, you will like it!” Security told me. “It’s about spies!”

I woke up in the middle of the night. Daughney was sleeping on the bed next to mine. Security lady was sitting on the floor, inside the room, blocking the door. I went to the bathroom and took a shower. It woke up Daughney. She offered to watch me while security got some sleep. I laid on my bed, till morning, staring at the ceiling, wondering what would happen next.

For how long will they keep me here? Why would not they press charges? Are they going to sue me? My head was full of questions that I did not have an answer for. All I knew, was that morning I was very unsessionable, and that was a good thing.

Leave a Reply

